Skip to content

Obsessions: let me show you them

April 27, 2010

Hello friends.

If  any of you know me personally, you are probably aware that I become insanely excited and passionate about random things that cross my path, usually in the craft world (also, ABBA – I am always passionately dedicated to ABBA). My current obsession is: LACE

You guys, why didn’t you tell me how awesome it is?!? I will admit, I have dabbled in the past, but something didn’t click. Above, on the decapitated picture of me, is Ishbel, a perfect pattern for a perfect shawl. I can’t tell you how much fun I had knitting this, and I did the bulk of it on painkillers! (I sprained my back spinning in a bad chair – truth!)

As soon as it was off the needles and blocking, The Traveling Woman shawl was next. I’m almost done, and it’s only been 2 days! OBSESSED, I TELL YOU!
Of course, my little brain started jumping all over the place, in an excited fury, “What else can I do!? Oh! Spin lace yarn!” So, after talking to some lovely folks all over the internet, I’ve realized that the next thing I need are COMBS. I’ve got my eyes on these beauties, as they seem like good beginner combs. But, I concluded today, after much frantic deliberation, that I should probably wait until post-fiber fest (The Tennessee Fiber Fest, y’all!) to get my combs, and use what money I have in the fiber fund for more fiber. No one wants to see a sad table with no fiber on it, right? Right. Or, at least that’s what I’ve told myself.

So, in the meantime, I’ll be dyeing wool and spinning some Rambouillet from the fold for some lace. LACE!! ❤

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 5:55 pm

    THIS IS SO HOT! I haven’t clicked with the lace yet, but now you give me hope that someday, someday…

  2. April 27, 2010 7:23 pm

    Love the lace. Started Windswept two days ago… of course good fiber always makes it better and better. Happy Spinning.

  3. September 3, 2010 9:59 am

    Beautiful!! I have my eye on some lace patterns, too… my problem is charts. Like reading music, charts are awful for me!

Leave a comment